Oldie but Goodie

Newfoundland Mitts
This mitten pattern is an old favorite here in Atlantic Canada and is a nice warm mitt for frigid weather. I had a much marked up, old pattern sheet kicking about and when I was asked for a copy, I decided I had better write up a new one with updated language. You can find it on my Patterns Page, the tab is located up in the header picture above. Here they are in all their glory.

Newfoundland Mitts

I made these mitts about 6 or 7 years ago, when I started knitting again, after about that many years on hiatus from the crafty sticks. I was still a newbie, however, and used acrylic to knit these and many pairs for the children.

It was this particular pair, though, that taught me a lesson about yarn. One day, I went out to shovel my driveway, put on my newly knit mitts and realised that the cold immediately penetrated to my hands, the wind blew right through the mitts!

I couldn’t believe it. All those hours knitting mitts and they didn’t keep the hands warm. They didn’t even perform their main function. And the Kids! I felt really bad for sending them off to school in my hand knit mittens that wouldn’t keep their hands warm…

All yarns are not alike… Lesson learned (hang my head in shame).

I now knit exclusively with 100% or high blend wool or cotton. I always was a ‘natural’ nut (little or no plastic in my life!) and I have no idea what possessed me to use fake wool for knitting! It probably was the price, now that I think about it. I couldn’t imagine paying big $$ for yarn. I would have died paying $10 for a 50 gm ball of worsted weight yarn! Now, try and keep me and Noro apart!

I never did remake these mitts in warm wool. Maybe this season I’ll knit myself new ones… Maybe with Noro! Yeah, that would be neat!…. I’ll keep you posted

Keep on creating.

2 thoughts on “Oldie but Goodie

  1. firefly8868

    Thanks for sharing the pattern, and the thing is many of us probably used to knit with acrylic yarns because, like you say, they were affordable. Now there are so many beautiful natural fiber yarns available and so soft … and we’re older and have more discretion.

    Have a beautiful day,
    firefly

    Reply
  2. Florian

    Hi,
    I found your blog via google by accident and have to admit that youve a really interesting blog :-)
    Just saved your feed in my reader, have a nice day :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

