Christmas Knitting

Or avoiding the hustle and bustle…

Every year  I swear I won’t do it and every year I do it!  I heap on the Christmas knitting and end up having a pile of knitting to do at last minute! There have actually been three separate Christmas’ on record where the recipient recieved their gift with the needles still in!!

I do think ahead and make reasonable plans to make gifts for my family, however, I still manage to have a lot of last minute knitting to do. So how am I going to fix this?  I’ve been thinking about it and I think for next year I will do the following:

– Start planning in August.  September at the latest!

– Make a list of recipients and associated projects and stick to it (no last minute additions so think and plan carefully!) and beware, don’t give yourself more than you can easily accomplish!

– Ensure you have all materials available to you in case you get bored with one project.  Then there is no excuse not to pick up another one and get cracking! This means shopping for and/ or ordering all patterns and yarn before you need them!!

– Make deadlines – This is where I have so many problems! I get started early enough but get distracted by other non-Christmas projects and other crafts so that the last few weeks before Christmas come as a surprise and a flurry of knitting. Setting deadlines will force you to put Christmas knitting first before other less essential projects! It might also be good to set up a calendar with other deadlines on it as well…. Holiday baking days/nights, shopping deadlines, Christmas cards and Parcel shipping deadlines and that costume you promised to make for the school play!!

Here are a few pictures of the projects I took on for this year.  Please note that with 2 weeks left ’til Christmas not one is finished and all are in various states of unfinished-ness! Lol!

IMAG0454

These two UFO’s are the same beautiful pattern Brown Berries Scarf pattern

IMAG0456

These skeins of yarn are supposed to be knit up into scarves too!

IMAG0458

 

 

 

 

 

and of course this pair of socks is in the home stretch.

I must say I did have reasons that my knitting got behind this year…

IMAG0291new

My daughter got married in October!  In this picture she is wearing a shawl that I wove for her on my floor loom and that took up a lot of my knitting time!

Everyone, please have a happy, healthy Holiday season and may all your crafty dreams come true!

One thought on “Christmas Knitting

  1. SDSue

    Creative Whimsy, I LOVE your knitting and the photo of your daughter’s wedding is beautiful. Thank you for following my blog Warped and Weft Behind? Hope to see more posts from you when you get the chance! Happy 2013 and peace to your WIP and weaving!
    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

